Quick Links ×
The Ardee School


Elementary Montessori Education

Know More


Key Stage 1 & 2
Year 1-5


Know More


Key Stage 3 to 5
National Curriculum of England and Wales, Cambridge Lower IGCSE and Advanced International AS & A Level

Know More


Our curriculum, teaching methodology and tie-ups make our students feel at home with the world.


The primary purpose of assessment is to support and enhance student learning. We recognize and appreciate that students have different learning styles and both the formative and summative assessments are based on this premise. This makes the evaluation fair, while it demonstrates a wide range of best practices. All assessments are based on a mutual understanding between the student and teacher on what will be assessed and how. The formative assessments (AFL- Assessment For Learning) are ongoing and provide students with a clear feedback to help them set their targets for the future. The summative assessments (AOL- Assessment of Learning) are calendared and follow pre decided units as per the needs of a particular subject. All assessments are more skill based and involve critical thinking and discourage rote learning. Students are also involved in cross curricular symposiums and projects which form part of the final assessment grade. This serves to make them independent learners.


Key Stage 1 and 2
Formative Assessments are ongoing and aimed at providing information to guide teachers and enhance student performance. These are not graded.

Summative assessments are based on short units to provide information on student achievement against specific benchmarks.

A range of assessment practices are used to cater to the strengths and learning styles of different students and includes projects, oral presentations and presentations using technology. All assessments are not the traditional pen and paper ones.
Key Stage 3
In addition to the above, students of Key Stage 3 have two calendared assessments at the end of each semester. The final grade is based on the summative assessments done through the semester as well as the end of semester assessments. This system is observed to prepare the students for timed assignments of a longer duration and covering a larger chunk of the syllabus to stand them in good stead for the IGCSE at the end of Year 10.
Key Stage 4 and 5
Key Stage 4 includes Year 9 and 10 and culminates in the IGCSE examinations conducted by Cambridge at the end of Year 10.

Students take a psychometry test to enable them to make an informed choice regarding the subjects they would like to pursue. They are supported in this process by the College Counsellor, the Cambridge Coordinator and the Principal/ Deputy Principal. A meeting is held with each student along with the parents to finalise the subject choices.

Students take a minimum of 8 subjects for their IGCSE programme. Differentiation is provided based on the needs of the students.

Key Stage 5 includes Year 11 and 12. Students take up the AS and A level exams at this level.

A student is required to take a minimum of 4 subjects at this level. This process is again guided by the psychometry test and the guidance of the Counsellor, the Cambridge Coordinator as well as the Deputy Principal/ Principal along with the parents.

The assessment format at Key Stage 4 and 5 is more rigorous. It includes the ongoing formative assessments, summative assessments and end of semester calendared assessments. In addition, students in Year 10 and 12 undergo two Mock Examinations to prepare them for their final IGCSE and AS/A level examinations.

Students are encouraged to work on cross curricular projects to strengthen their portfolios as this initiative makes them stand out as independent learners.

In Key Stage 4 and 5 students are also encouraged to take standardized testing like SAT, ACT, TOEFFL, IELTS etc. They are guided by the College Counsellor during the regular time tabled Counselling lesson.